A Minute

I’ve been posting a lot of my old writing on here. Originally, I intended to write much more original content for this blog. But college is, as I’m sure you know, extremely demanding and the opportunity to get ahead on an assignment by sharing work I’ve already done is all too enticing during this stressful season.

I wrote A Minute almost exactly a year ago, during a time of similar emotional and educational strain. For me, the experience of writing it was incredibly cathartic. I hope you’ll have a similar experience reading it.

 

A Minute

 

Excuse me I’d like to buy a minute.

I was told to ask you.

So tell me, what can I do?

I just want a minute,

A minute from you.

 

You can have all my money,

You can take all my jewels.

I don’t have much –

I’ll give it all to you.

 

What I don’t have is time,

There’s never enough.

The world keeps turning and turning.

This life is tough.

 

So just please give me a minute,

I’ll do whatever you ask.

I’ll strike any bargain,

Complete any task.

If you would give me a minute,

One measly, small minute.

Just please, give me some time without life in it.

I just need a minute.

A minute to collapse.

 

After it’s done, I’ll pick myself up.

I’ll grin, bear it, and move on.

If I could just have a minute

Without life in it.

 

So I’d like to buy a minute.

I don’t know what else to do.

I’d like to buy a minute.

A minute, maybe two.

I’m at my wits end,

I don’t know what else to do.

I’m dying to breathe

For a minute or two.

I’d like to buy a minute.

Just please tell me what to do.

I’m dying to breathe

 

For a minute

 

Or two.

 

 

One thought on “A Minute

  1. I’d like to take a minute and tell you this was well done. It’s honest, and even though there were one or two spots where the rhythm was a bit spotty but other than that it was very well done. It keeps the reader on their feet and in my opinion, it was beautiful and well-crafted. It reveals deep, personal thoughts and it does so with good skill. Keep it up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

